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Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (TBCE) 

333 Guadalupe, Tower III, Suite 825 

Austin, Texas 78701 

(512) 305-6700 

(512) 305-6705 Fax 
 

 
 
 
 

Dear Texas Applicant: 

 
Enclosed are the instructions and materials needed to apply for the jurisprudence 

examination given by the Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board).  Once the 

completed application and supporting materials have been received, it may take up to 

30 days to process the application, not including the fingerprint card processing time. 

Applications and transcripts are held for up to two years from the date received by the 

Board. You will be required to re-apply if your application is more than two years old. 

 
The application processing fee of $200 can be paid to the Board online at 

https://apps.portal.texas.gov/feepaylite/tx/tbce/feepayment/order/start or by 

cashier’s check or money order. After submission of your payment you can fax 

or email your completed application to 512-305-6705 or 

licensing@tbce.state.tx.us. ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. Your 

application will not be processed unless the required fees and all supporting 

documents are received. Outdated or incomplete forms with improper fees will be 

returned to the applicant, which will delay the processing time. 

 

IMPORTANT  NOTE: DO NOT HAVE ANY DOCUMENTATION SENT TO 

THE BOARD UNTIL YOU HAVE SUBMITTED YOUR APPLICATION AND 

FEES. ALL DOCUMENTS RECEIVED PRIOR TO RECEIVING YOUR 

APPLICATION WILL NOT BE KEPT AND YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO 

RESUBMIT THEM. 

 
State law requires that all applicants submit to a criminal background check. 

Once you apply, the instructions for completing the background check will be 

emailed to you. 

 

Failure to list all convictions may result in your being denied the opportunity to sit for 

the Texas jurisprudence exam. An arrest record or a conviction of crime does not 

preclude acceptance of an applicant.  However, if additional information or further 

inquiry is deemed necessary, there will be a delay in receiving approval to sit for the 

jurisprudence exam. The Board can reject an application based on our determination as 

to the applicant’s moral character. All questions on the application must be answered 

completely and honestly. Any application which is falsified will be returned and must 

be resubmitted with a notarized affidavit to the Board explaining why your original 

application was falsified. 

https://apps.portal.texas.gov/feepaylite/tx/tbce/feepayment/order/start
mailto:licensing@tbce.state.tx.us?subject=New%20License%20Application
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REQUIRED   DOCUMENTATION: 
 

   Official copy of your national board scores must be sent directly to the Board from 

the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE). 
 

   Official copies of all undergraduate transcripts and chiropractic college transcripts 

must be sent directly to the Board from the colleges. 
 

   Transcripts confirming that you have received (90) or more fully accredited 

semester hours of college/university courses, with a "C-" grade or better. 

If you entered chiropractic school prior to September 1, 2005, you would only 

need to have 60 hours to meet this requirement 

 
   Certification of License or Letter of good standing from every state licensing board 

where you currently hold or have ever held a license 
 

   Copy of your chiropractic diploma 
 

   One (2”x 2”) passport style photo attached to the front page of your application 

 
After a thorough review and evaluation of your application, transcripts, and associated 

documents, you will receive written notification of your status. Only those applicants 

meeting all criteria will be eligible to sit for the Texas jurisprudence exam. You will receive 

a letter of eligibility once your application is complete.  Applicants who do not meet the 

criteria will be notified by mail of their deficiencies. 

 
Upon receiving your letter of eligibility, you may schedule your exam on our website at 

www.tbce.state.tx.us, under the tab labeled “Jurisprudence Exam”. A testing fee of 

$150 will be required to sit for the exam. 

 
When taking the Texas jurisprudence exam, you will be tested over the current statutes 

(Texas Occupations Code Chapter 201) and Board rules (22 Texas Administrative Code 

Chapters 71 - 82). The statutes and rules may be accessed at http://www.tbce.state.tx.us. 
 

IMPORTANT  NOTE: As the statutes and rules are periodically revised, please review 

them carefully prior to scheduling your exam. 

 
Should you have any further questions about this application, please do not hesitate to 

contact me. 

 
Sincerely, 

 
 

Licensing Department

http://www.tbce.state.tx.us/
http://www.tbce.state.tx.us/
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TEXAS BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS 

Instructions and License Application 
 

 
 

1.   ALL FEES CAN BE PAID ONLINE OR MONEY ORDER/CASHIER’S CHECK. 
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. Please submit the following fees: 

 
1.   $200 application processing fee made payable to the 

Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 

 
CRIMINAL BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION: 

Texas applicants are REQUIRED to have their fingerprints processed at Morpho 

Trust.  Morpho Trust will collect the fingerprint fees and transmit your prints to the 

Department of Public Safety and the FBI.  Once the investigation has been completed, 

the results will be sent directly to the Board. 

 
If  you  reside  outside  of  Texas and have mailed your application to be processed, 

please send an email to licensing@tbce.state.tx.us  requesting that a fingerprint card 

be mailed to you. Upon receiving the card, pre-register and pay; then take it to a local 

police station and have your prints taken.  Return the completed fingerprint card to 

Morpho Trust. 

 
2.   Must have taken and passed parts I-IV and physiotherapy administered by the National 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE). You must take and pass all parts of the national 

boards by a grade of 375 or better before you can become eligible to sit for the jurisprudence 

exam. 

 
3.   Must have taken and passed with a “C-” grade or better at least 90 fully accredited hours of 

undergraduate college or university studies other than those hours received at a chiropractic 

college. 

 
4.   Must have official undergraduate transcripts sent directly to the Board from ALL 

undergraduate colleges attended. 

 
5.   Must  have  official  chiropractic  college  transcript  sent  directly  to  t h e  B o a r d   

from  your chiropractic college. 

 
6.   Must submit a copy of your chiropractic college diploma. 

 
7.   One (2”x 2”) passport style photo attached to the front page of your application. 

 
8.   Completed background check.  Please see the back page of this application for all 

instructions. 

 
9.   Must have a letter of good standing from ALL states or foreign countries where you have 

ever held a chiropractic license. 

mailto:licensing@tbce.state.tx.us
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PLEASE READ THE APPLICATION VERY CAREFULLY BEFORE SUBMITTING AS IT 

WILL BE RETURNED IF NOT PROPERLY COMPLETED.   THE BOARD ASSUMES NO 

RESPONSIBILITY FOR DELAYS IN PROCESSING YOUR APPLICATION IF YOUR 

APPLICATION HAS TO BE RETURNED. PLEASE DO NOT INCLUDE THE INSTRUCTIONS 

WITH YOUR APPLICATION. 
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FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY 

Amount             Received:             $ 

CC: or MO:                                       

Date Received:          /         /          

Passport 

Style Photo 

 
Please glue or tape here. 

No staples. 

 
An un-touched photo showing 

head and 

shoulders front. 
 
 
 

 

TEXAS BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS 

Application for New License 
 

Each applicant must answer all questions completely.  Insufficient answers will cause the application to be 

rejected.  

 
1.   First Name    Middle    Last Name    

 

Maiden or other names:    
 

2.   Home Address (No PO Box):    
 

City:   State:   Zip Code:    
 

Telephone Number: (  )   how long at above address?    
 

Cell Number: (  )   E-mail address:     
 

Fax Number: (  )    
 

3.   Permanent Address (if different from above):    
 

City:   State:   Zip Code:    
 

Permanent Telephone Number: (  )    
 

4.   Social Security Number:    
 

5.   Date and place of your birth: / / 
 

 

City State 
 

6.   If foreign born, give date of entry, immigration to this country, and date and place of naturalization: 
 

 
 

7.   Driver’s License Number: State: 
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8.   List   the   names   and   locations   of   all   academic   colleges   and   universities   attended,   dates 

of graduation, and degrees awarded. List in order of attendance (earliest to latest). 

Use only line per college. High school transcripts not required. 

 
Name of College or University Dates Attended Degrees 

Awarded 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

 

Please attach a supplemental sheet for additional schools. 

 
9.   Exact name of Chiropractic College:    

 

Exact date of entry (dd/mm/yyyy):    
 

Exact graduation date on diploma: (dd/mm/yyyy):      
 

10. Under what name did you graduate?    
 

11. Do you currently hold or have you in the past held a license in another state(s) Yes No 

 
List ALL states/countries ever licensed in:    

 

12. IF YES, you will be required to have the state board(s) send an official Certification of Licensure or 

letter     of     good     standing     directly     to     the     B o a r d .           (Form     attached). You 
must send this form to each state board where you currently or once held a license. 

 
13. Are your licenses in full force? Yes No Suspended? Yes No 

 
Cancelled? Yes No   Voluntarily Dropped? Yes NO   Revoked? Yes No 

 
14. How long has the above license(s) been in force and effect?    

 

15. Are there pending complaints against you in any other state(s)? Yes No 

 

16. Are you a military service member? Yes No 

 

17. Are you a military veteran? Yes No 
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FAILURE TO LIST A CONVICTION WILL RESULT IN YOUR APPLICATION BEING DENIED. 
 

 
18. Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, other than a traffic violation? 

Yes No Felony Misdemeanor 
 

IF YES, you will receive a questionnaire and a copy of 22 Texas Administrative Code §72.18 

(Criminal History).   You will be required to submit certain documentation and receive Board 

approval to sit for the Texas jurisprudence exam. The Board meets quarterly each year and your 

application must be complete a minimum of 30 days before you can come before the Board. 

 
19. Have you ever been subject to a deferred adjudication for a conviction of a felony or a 

misdemeanor, other than a traffic offense? 

Yes No Felony Misdemeanor 

 
IF  YES,  you  are  required  to  submit  proof  that  all  of  the  requirements  of  the  deferred 

adjudication have been met and your case has been dismissed. 

 
20. Have you ever been refused or failed an examination by any chiropractic licensing board? 

Yes No Refused Failed 
 

IF YES, what board  Date   _/  _/   
 

21. Have you passed National Board Examinations, parts I-IV and physiotherapy? Yes No 

 
Results pending for Part(s):    

 

Comments:    
You must request that the national board mail the Board a certified copy of your scores. 

 
 

Should you have any questions regarding this application, please contact our licensing 

department at (512) 305-6707 or by email at licensing@tbce.state.tx.us 
 

 
 
 
 

 

mailto:licensing@tbce.state.tx.us
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My name is       

(First) (Middle) (Last) 
 

 
 
 
 
 

My date of birth is 
 
 
 
 

 

My address is 
 

 

(Address), (City), (State), (Zip) and (Country) 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. I understand that no one 

else may submit this form on my behalf and that I am accountable and responsible for the 

accuracy of any answer or statement on this form. 

 
Further, I understand it is a violation of the Texas Occupations Code §201.5025 and  

Texas Penal Code §37.10 to submit a false statement to the Board. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Signature:    Date:    
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Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 3-825 

Austin, Texas 78701 

Telephone:  (512) 305-6700 

FAX: (512) 305-6705 
 

CERTIFICATION OF LICENSE (English only) 
Applicable ONLY if you hold or have ever held a license in another state or country 

 

 
 

APPLICANT:  Please complete the top portion of this request and forward it to the licensing 

board of every state or country in which you have ever held a license to practice chiropractic. 
(This form may be copied). 

 
Name as it appears on license:                                                                                              

 

Address 
 

 

Street number City State Zip 
 

Date of Birth:    License Number:     
 

LICENSING  BOARD:  To assist the Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners with evaluating 

the above D.C.’s application, we would appreciate your completion of the following: 

 
Name:    License Number:     

 

State:    Status:     
 

Date Issued:     Expiration   
 

Has the license ever been subject to discipline, suspension or revocation? Yes No 

 
IF YES, please explain: 

 

 
 

What was the basis for granting the applicant’s license in your state or country?  (Please check one) 

Examination Reciprocity Other 

 
IF OTHER, please explain: 

 
 
 
 

Signature of Certifying Official Date 
 

 
 

Title 
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