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GOVERNOR APPOINTS, SENATE 
CONFIRMS NEW BOARD MEMBERS
Governor Rick Perry appointed three new members to the Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners on March 25, 2009.  The 
Texas Senate shortly thereafter unanimously approved the appointments during the recently concluded 81st legislative session.  
All were appointed for six-year terms that expire on February 1, 2015 and replace members whose terms had expired.  The 
three appointees are:

Larry Montgomery, D.C., is President 
of Montgomery Chiropractic, P.A. in 
Belton, Texas.  Dr. Montgomery is a 
member of the American Chiropractic 
Association and served as President 
of the Texas Chiropractic Association 
in 1998-99.  He currently serves on 
the board of directors for the Belton 
Area Chamber of Commerce and is a 
member of the Belton Lions Club.  Dr. 
Montgomery earned his DC degree at 
Texas Chiropractic College and also has 
completed the post-graduate program 
in orthopedics at TCC.  He is married 
to Priscilla and they have two sons, 
Micah and Malachi.  He serves on the 
Board’s Enforcement Committee and 
replaces Dr. David Sime of El Paso.

Patrick Thomas, D.C., of Corpus 
Christi is a partner in the Snowden-
Thomas Clinic and has been in 
practice for 35 years.  Dr. Thomas is a 
60-year resident of Corpus Christi and 
is active in several local community-
based organizations.  He is a graduate 
of Texas Chiropractic College 
and the International Academy of 
Medical Acupuncture.  He holds 
National Board Certifications in 
both Chiropractic and Acupuncture.  
He enjoys being with his family, 
kayak fishing, woodworking and 
amateur radio.  Dr. Thomas serves as a 
member of the Board’s Licensing and 
Educational Standards Committee.  
He replaces Dr. Scott Isdale of Killeen.

Mr. Thomas O. Turner Larry Montgomery, D.C.Patrick Thomas, D. C.

Mr. Tom O. Turner is founder and 
CEO of Pisces Capital Group LLC, the 
Austin-based private equity firm with 
additional offices in San Antonio.  A 

(Continued on page 14)
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A Message from the 
Executive Director...
This issue of the Texas Chiropractic Board Report contains 

several articles that I believe will be of interest to most, if 
not all, practicing doctors of chiropractic in Texas.  Our 
lead article on Page 3 concerns a significant change to the 
laws governing the solicitation of patients.  It is now illegal 
for chiropractors and certain other professionals to contact 
victims of accidents or disasters or the relatives of those 
victims before the 31st day after the event.

Pages 3 & 4 contain a review of all rule changes adopted 
by the Board since August of 2008.  Other important 
articles or features list the disciplinary actions taken by the 

Board during Fiscal Year 2009, present an overview of the 
complaint resolution process, and offer some advice on how to avoid becoming involved 
in complaints or disciplinary actions at all.

We also introduce three new board members recently appointed to the Board by 
Governor Perry.  I want to take this opportunity to publicly thank the three outstanding 
individuals who recently left the Board at the expiration of their terms in office.  They are 
Ms. Marcia Daughtrey of Tyler, Dr. Scott Isdale of Killeen, and Dr. David Sime of El Paso.  
Their unflagging professionalism, dedication, and integrity have been an inspiration to me.  
Board members serve terms of six years.  They receive no pay and several of the members 
decline some or all of the expense reimbursements to which they are entitled.  I am 
confident that it costs the typical board member a significant amount of money out of his 
or her own pocket to serve on a state board such as the TBCE when expenses and missed 
business income are factored in.  Most state boards would have a difficult time operating 
properly without the sacrifices made by the board members.

Here at the agency we continue to strive to improve our customer service efforts 
and to make it as easy as possible for DCs, clinic owners and radiologic technologists to 
know and comply with the laws under which they must operate.  Improving our online 
renewal processes has allowed us to reach a point where over 90% of DCs now renew 
their licenses online each year, while more than 80%  of facility owners renew their clinic 
registrations online.  We also now provide free online verifications of DC licenses and will 
have online verifications of clinics and radiologic technologist registrations available in a 
few weeks.  We still have challenges in getting our phones answered all the time and our 
website needs some significant improvements but our goal is to continue to improve in 
measurable ways over the next year.  	

					     Glenn Parker – Executive Director
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Legislature Tightens Accident 
Victim Solicitation Laws

Taking action that will affect many attorneys, 
chiropractors, physicians and others throughout the 
state, the 81st Legislature amended the Texas Penal 

Code to prohibit people in certain professions or occupations or 
their agents from contacting accident or disaster victims before a 
certain amount of time has elapsed.  Effective September 1, 2009 
it is illegal for a doctor of chiropractic or anyone acting on 
the doctor’s behalf to contact an individual who is 
a victim of an accident or a disaster before the 31st 
day after the date on which the accident or disaster 
occurred.  It is also illegal to contact a relative of 
the injured person before the 31st day after that date.

House Bill 148, authored by Rep. Todd Smith 
and sponsored in the Senate by Sen. Jeff Wentworth, 
was signed into law by Governor Rick Perry on June 19, 
2009, with an effective date of September 1, 2009.  HB 148 
amended Section 28.12(d) of the Texas Penal Code to protect 
accident victims and their families from the emotional distress 
of unwanted solicitations and to protect the integrity of certain 
professionals licensed in Texas.  According to an analysis of the 
bill provided by the Legislature, the background and purpose of 
HB 148 is as follows:

Currently, there exists a thriving telemarketing business focused 
on motor vehicle accident victims through information obtained 
from police reports.  These victims are subjected to calls and 
callbacks from attorneys, chiropractors, physicians, surgeons, health 
care professionals, private investigators, and telemarketers soon 
after an accident, at a time when they are most vulnerable and 
often while they are impaired by pain medication.  Victims should 
be provided with protection from further pain and suffering.  The 
United States Supreme Court has recognized that states have a 
substantial interest in protecting the privacy of accident victims, 
protecting accident victims and their families from the emotional 
stress of unwanted solicitation, and protecting the integrity of 
professionals licensed in Texas.
HB 148 provides further protection to the public from professional 
solicitation by prohibiting certain professionals from providing or 
knowingly permitting to be provided to an individual who has 
not sought the person’s employment, legal representation, advice, 
or care a solicitation by telephone or in person of business relating 
to certain legal actions or matters, including personal injury 
matters before a certain date or indefinitely if the person has 
indicated a desire not to be contacted.

Doctors of chiropractic, their employees, or their agents who 

violate the prohibition against contacting accident or disaster 
victims or their families before the 31st day after the accident 
or event may be subject to discipline by the Texas Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners and to prosecution by local and state 
law enforcement officials.

The Board also wants to take this opportunity to remind all 
doctors of chiropractic of their 

responsibilities concerning 
the solicitation of 
patients under Board 
Rule §77.2.  In general, 
all chiropractors who 

engage in telemarketing 
directly, through their staffs 

or outside parties must abide by 
the following requirements (see Rule §77.2 for specifics):

1.	 Do not make any false, fraudulent, misleading, or unfair 
statements or claims. Do not promise successful treatment 
of any injuries or conditions;

2.	 Do not offer or describe services that are not within the 
scope of practice for chiropractors in Texas;

3.	 Licensees and facilities engaging in telemarketing shall 
not misrepresent to the person called any association with 
an insurance company, or another DC, chiropractic group 
or facility;

4.	 Licensees, facilities or their agents engaging in 
telemarketing must identify themselves at the start of each 
call to inform the person being called who they are and 
what DC or clinic they represent;

5.	 You must keep a copy of each script used in telemarketing 
and you must keep a log of all individuals called, including 
the date, telephone number and the name of each person 
called; copies of the scripts and logs must be kept for a 
minimum of two years;

6.	 If you use a testimonial, a copy of the testimonial signed 
by the person or group providing the testimony must 
be kept for a minimum of two years from the date the 
testimony was published;

7.	 Licensees and clinics must clearly differentiate a chiropractic 
clinic, office or facility from any other business enterprise 
in any form of public communication; and

8.	 Licensees must identify themselves as either “doctor of 
chiropractic,” “DC,” or “chiropractor” in all forms of 
public communication.
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Board Adopts Rules Changes, Proposes New 
Rules & Amendments

One of the primary responsibilities of the Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) is to adopt and revise rules as necessary to regulate effectively 

and fairly the practice of chiropractic in Texas.  New rules and amendments to existing rules are researched, proposed, reviewed and adopted in a 

multi-step process that takes place over a number of months.  Before adoption, all proposed rules changes are published for public comment in the 

Texas Register, which is published weekly each Friday by the office of the Texas Secretary of State.  (The Register can be found on the website for 

the Secretary of State at: www.sos.state.tx.us.)  All rules that have been adopted and are currently in force can be found on the Board’s website at: 

www.tbce.state.tx.us. Follow the links under “Statutes and Rules” on our home page.

Adopted New Rules & Amended Rules
The Board met five times in the thirteen months from 

August 1, 2008 through August 31, 2009.  During those 
five meetings the Board adopted five (5) new rules and also 
adopted amendments to three (3) existing rules.  Several of 
these rules changes affect all DCs, while some may have a 
more limited effect depending on the individual practice 
circumstances for each doctor.  The remainder of this article 
addresses in a summary manner the rules changes that were 
adopted, in chronological order.  The Board suggests that all 
licensees read each rule in its entirety.

Rule §75.19 Cease and Desist Orders
On August 16, 2008, the Board adopted new Rule 

§75.19 Cease and Desist Orders.  By adoption of this rule, 
the Board delegated to its Enforcement Committee the 
right to issue Cease and Desist Orders on behalf of the 
Board.  If the Enforcement Committee determines that 
a person is practicing chiropractic without a license, the 
Committee may – after notifying the person and giving 
him/her the opportunity for a hearing -  order that 
person to stop engaging in that activity.  The Enforcement 
Committee meets several times each year, while the full 
Board usually meets only four times each year.  Delegating 
this responsibility to the Enforcement Committee allows 
the agency to take action quicker against people who are 
practicing chiropractic without a license.

Rule §80.11 Code of Ethics
On August 16, 2008, the Board adopted new Rule 

§80.11 Code of Ethics.  This rule encourages chiropractors 
to practice with a high level of ethics to enable patients to 
make informed choices about their chiropractic treatment, 

consult with other health care professionals as appropriate, 
serve patients without discrimination, help others in 
the profession acquire knowledge, and to maintain high 
standards of scholarship, education, training and in the 
dissemination of accurate and complete information.

Rule §80.5 Maintenance of Chiropractic Records
The Board, also at its meeting on August 16, 2008, 

adopted an amendment to Rule §80.5 Maintenance of 
Chiropractic Records that contains a significant provision 
concerning the content of patient and billing records.  Rule 

§80.5 (f) is especially important and is quoted in full:
(f) Licensees shall maintain patient and billing records in a manner 

consistent with the protection and welfare of the patient. A 
licensee’s patient records shall support all diagnoses, treatments, 
and billing. Records shall be timely, dated, accurate, signed or 
initialed by the licensee or the person providing treatment, and 
legible. Electronic signatures are acceptable.
Notice that the patient’s records shall support all 

diagnosis, treatments, and billing.  They must also be signed 
by the licensee or the person providing the treatment.  
Failure to properly document the diagnosis, treatment and 
billing for each patient is a significant shortcoming for many 
chiropractors in Texas.

Rule §75.17 Scope of Practice
On May 14, 2009, the Board adopted an amendment to 

its Scope of Practice Rule (Rule §75.17) to state specifically 
that, “In order to provide therapeutic care for a patient 
or patient population, licensees are authorized to use…
(O) manipulation under anesthesia;…”   The Board has 
consistently held for many years that MUA is within scope 
of practice for properly educated and trained DCs but had 
held off on specifically listing MUA in Rule §75.17 until 
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the Board had time to further study the question since first 
adopting Rule §75.17 in May of 2006.  

Rule §75.21 Acupuncture
Also on May 4, 2009, the Board adopted new Rule §75.21 

Acupuncture.  This new rule establishes the requirements 
that must be met by any licensed DC in Texas who wishes 
to include acupuncture in his her/chiropractic practice.  It is 
strongly suggested that DCs read Rule §75.21.  In summary 
(see Rule §75.21 for actual details), DCs who are currently 
licensed in Texas before January 1, 2010 may legally 
practice acupuncture if they meet any one of the following 
requirements:  (1) have completed a course of at least 100 
hours in acupuncture provided by a chiropractic college 
or an acupuncture school approved by the Texas Board of 
Acupuncture Examiners; or (2) have successfully completed 
the acupuncture examination offered by the National Board 
of Chiropractic Examiners; or 
(3) have successfully completed 
the examination offered by 
the National Certification 
Commission for Acupuncture and 
Oriental Medicine; or (4) have 
been trained in acupuncture and 
have been practicing acupuncture 
for at least the past ten (10) years; 
or (5) have successfully completed 
at least 100 hours in acupuncture 
training in a course approved by the Board.

All new Texas DCs who wish to practice acupuncture and 
who are licensed initially after January 1, 2010 must successfully 
complete either the NBCE acupuncture examination or the 
examination offered by the National Certification Commission 
for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine.  This examination 
requirement does not apply retroactively to currently licensed 
DCs who qualify to practice acupuncture under one of the five 
provisions listed above.

Rule §71.15 Recognized Specialties
At its most recent meeting August 13, 2009, the Board 

adopted new Rule §71.15 Recognized Specialties.  This rule 
will contain a listing of those areas of chiropractic practice 
that the Board has officially recognized as being a legitimate 
chiropractic specialty field of practice.  Recognition of a 
chiropractic specialty by the Board is a multi-step process in 
which the Board reviews an application from a recognized 
organization that represents the specialty area.  It is important 

to note that the Board is not recognizing, certifying, or 
licensing individual practitioners.  Please see the article on 
Chiropractic Specialties on page 13 of this newsletter.

Rule §76.21 Extensions of Time
The Board on August 13, 2009 also adopted new Rule 
§76.21 Extensions of Time.  This rule does not directly 
affect the practice of chiropractic in Texas.  It is intended 
to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of the Board by 
delegating to the agency’s Executive Director the authority 
to enter into certain agreements on behalf of the Board for 
the purpose of expediting matters between the agency and 
the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH).

Rule 75.7 Required Fees and Charges
The Board on August 13, 2009 adopted changes to 

Rule 75.7 Required Fees and Charges to adopt fees for 
issuing and renewing temporary faculty licenses 
for qualified faculty at Texas Chiropractic 
College and Parker College of Chiropractic, as 
required by HB 3450.  The Board also adopted 
an increase in fees for approving continuing 
education courses.  (The Board receives no part 
of the fees collected from attendees who attend 
the courses.)  The Board did not increase any 
licensing fees for doctors, clinics or chiropractic 
radiologic technologists.

Rules Changes Proposed by the Board
At the meeting held on August 13, 2009, the Board 

reviewed one proposed new rule and one proposed rule 
amendment and instructed the staff to publish the proposed 
rule changes in the Texas Register for public comment.  The 
proposed rules changes, which will be eligible for adoption 
by the Board at its November 12, 2009 meeting, include:

Proposed New Rule 71.17 Temporary Faculty License, which 
sets forth proposed requirements for issuing and renewing 
temporary faculty licenses to qualified faculty members 
at Texas Chiropractic College and Parker College of 
Chiropractic;

Proposed Amendment to Rule 75.17 Scope of Practice, which 
updates language concerning the use of lasers to allow the 
use of “therapeutic lasers” for the treatment of conditions 
within the scope of practice for DCs. 
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THE TBCE
COMPLAINT 
RESOLUTION
PROCESS

The mission of the Board of Chiropractic Examiners is 
to protect the public through the fair and reasonable 
regulation of the practice of chiropractic.  The Board (or 

TBCE) receives approximately 250 complaints each year alleging 
possible misconduct by doctors of chiropractic or other Board 
licensees.  The Board is obligated to investigate each complaint and 
to reach a resolution as quickly as possible that is appropriate for 
the circumstances for that complaint.  This article is intended to 
give licensees an overview of the TBCE’s complaint investigation 
and resolution process.  It does not cover the process in every detail.  
Future newsletter articles are planned that will present details of a 
fictitious but typical case to help licensees to better understand how 
this important Board process works. 

Who Can File a Complaint? Anyone who has a complaint regarding 
a licensee or a chiropractic facility may file it with the Board in person 
at the Board’s office in Austin or in any written form, including an 
agency complaint form.  The agency complaint form is available 
in both English and Spanish.  The Board receives complaints from 
patients, former patients, relatives of patients, other chiropractors, 
insurance companies, attorneys, law enforcement agencies, federal 
and state criminal courts of law, federal and state civil courts of 
law, district attorneys, county attorneys, the U.S. Attorney’s Office, 
other Texas public health licensing agencies and licensing agencies 
from other states.  In addition, the Board staff may initiate an 
investigation, including the filing of a complaint on a licensee or 
facility owner for violations of statutes, rules or law.  The Board also 
receives anonymous complaints.  Anonymous complaints are not 
investigated if insufficient information is provided or the allegations 
are vague, appear to lack credible or factual foundation, or cannot be 
proved for lack of a witness or other evidence.  The majority of the 
anonymous complaints received deal with advertising violations, 
unlicensed practices or unregistered facilities.  These can usually be 
substantiated and are investigated. 

Staff Review and Investigation.  When a complaint is received it 
is reviewed by the Director of Enforcement or other authorized 
Enforcement staff for violations of the Texas Administrative Code 
(TAC), the Texas Occupations Code/Chiropractic Act (CA); the 
HPCA; the MRTCA; the rules or an order of the TDH; the Texas 

Penal Code (PC); and federal law (USC).  Upon initial review 
the complaint may be closed due to insufficient information or 
evidence; no violations of statute, rule or law; non-jurisdictional; 
duplicate of a previous case; or the complaint was withdrawn.  

If a complaint is found to be non-jurisdictional, the complaint is 
forwarded to the agency with jurisdiction in the matter, if any.  If the 
complaint is found to contain allegations of violations of a statute, 
rule or law the case is processed for an administrative investigation 
and assigned a case number.  The chiropractor or facility owner 
(respondent) named in the complaint is notified of the investigation 
by certified mail (CM/RRR).  This notification contains a cover 
letter from the Board, a copy of the complaint and a copy of the 
rule, statute or law that he/she is allegedly to be in violation of.

The cover letter informs the respondent that an investigation has 
been initiated into possible allegations of a violation of a statute, 
rule or law and that 22 TAC §75.6 require him/her to respond 
in writing within 15 days of receipt of the letter.  Failure to 
respond within 15 days is a violation of 22 TAC §75.6.  In the 
written response the respondent is to address the allegations in 
the complaint and provide any information, including pertinent 
documents, that he/she believes the Enforcement Committee 
should consider.  The respondent may also show that they have 
complied with all requirements of law, including statute, rule or 
law.  The complainant is notified in writing that an investigation 
has been initiated into the complaint.  The case is then assigned to 
an Investigator for follow-up.  The Enforcement Committee has 
the authority to issue subpoenas and subpoenas duces tecum to 
compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of books, 
records, and documents, to issue commissions to take depositions, 
to administer oaths and to take testimony concerning all matters 
within the assigned jurisdiction to assist in the investigation.

Informal Hearing Before the TBCE Enforcement Committee.  
When the staff investigation is completed the case is scheduled for 
an informal conference (IC) with the Enforcement Committee.  
The purpose of the Informal Conference is to attempt to resolve 
the complaint without having to go through the potentially 
expensive and time-consuming process of formal hearings at the 
State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) or an actual 
trial in the state’s court system.  The Enforcement Committee is 



August 2009	 Texas Chiropractic Board Report–7

composed of three board members, two of which are DCs, along 
with one public member of the Board.  The hearings themselves 
are closed to the public, although notices are given that the EC 
will meet.  Agency enforcement and legal staff and attorneys from 
the Office of the Attorney General attend to present evidence and 
to advise the Committee.  The IC allows the complainant and the 
respondent to be heard to facilitate the resolution of the case.  Both 
the complainant and the respondent are notified by mail of the date 
of the IC. The respondent is urged, but not required, to attend the 
IC.  The complainant is invited but is not required to attend.  Both 
the respondent and the complainant may have their legal counsel 
present if they wish.

Upon review of the case, the EC may close the case as No 
Violation; Insufficient Evidence; Complaint Withdrawn; or No 
Jurisdiction.  In the cases of Non-Jurisdiction, the EC may order 
the case referred to another agency.  In cases where the EC has 
made a finding of a violation of a statute, rule or law the EC 
will recommend disciplinary action.  This discipline may include 
revocation of license; suspension of license for a definite period 
of time; suspension with probation for a definite period of 
time; formal reprimand; administrative penalty (fine); additional 
continuing education; cease and desist orders; or a combination 
of any of these provisions.  In a case where the EC has made a 
finding of a violation for which a sanction is imposed, an Agreed 
Order will be offered to the respondent in an effort to resolve 
the case informally.  The Agreed Order is sent to the respondent 
with the EC’s recommendation.  The respondent may accept the 
recommendation and sign the Agreed Order or the respondent 
may chose not to accept the recommendation and request a formal 
hearing at the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH). 

The order is then returned to the TBCE.  If the respondent 
agreed to the recommendation it is presented to the full Board at 
the next scheduled Board meeting for approval.  The Board may 
approve the recommendation or vote to amend the order.  If the 
Board approves the Agreed Order it is signed by the Board President 
and the Executive Director.  A copy is sent to the respondent and 
he/she normally has 30 days to comply with the provisions of the 
agreed order.  Should the Board amend the proposed order, the 
respondent is contacted for concurrence with the amended order.  
If the respondent does not concur with the amended order, the EC 
shall determine whether negotiations on an agreed order should 
continue or to refer the case for SOAH.

Formal Hearing at SOAH.  If the respondent chooses not to sign 
the Agreed Order, the case is referred to SOAH and a court date 
assigned.  The respondent is given reasonable notice of a hearing of 
not less than 10 days prior to the hearing.  This notice will contain 
the date, time, place and nature of the hearing; a statement of the 
legal authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is being 
held; a reference to the particular sections of the Chiropractic Act, 
other law or rules which the respondent is alleged have violated; 

and a short and plain statement of the acts relied on by the Board 
as a violation of the cited law and rules.  The respondent shall 
enter an appearance by filing a written answer or other responsive 
pleading with SOAH, with a copy to the other party, within 20 
days of the date which the notice of hearing and formal complaint 
or petition is served on the respondent.  If the respondent fails to 
appear in person or by legal counsel on the date and the time of the 
hearing, regardless of whether an appearance has been entered, the 
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ), pursuant to SOAH rules, on the 
motion of petitioner (Board), shall enter a default judgment in the 
matter adverse to the respondent.  Within a reasonable time after 
the conclusion of the hearing, the ALJ shall prepare and serve on 
the parties a proposal for decision that includes the ALJ’s finding of 
fact and conclusions of law.  In the finding of a violation, the ALJ 
may recommend to the Board an appropriate disciplinary sanction.  
The respondent who is adversely affected by the proposed for 
decision of the ALJ may file exceptions and a supporting brief to 
the proposal for decision within 15 days after the date of service of 
the proposal for decision.  A reply to the exceptions may be filed 
within 15 days of the filing of exceptions.

Board Makes Final Decision Unless Appealed to District Court. 
The Board shall render the final decision in all cases, including 
the denial of a license or registration, revocation, temporary 
suspension, reprimand, and/or administrative penalties.  The final 
order is mailed to the respondent.  The decision of the Board is 
immediate, final and appealable upon the signing of the written 
order.  Any appeal of a final Board order issued after an ALJ’s ruling 
at SOAH must be through a civil District Court.  All disciplinary 
actions issued by the Board in the form of a Board order will be 
recorded and made available upon request as public information.  
All disciplinary actions shall be published in the TBCE newsletter, 
may be released in a press release, and shall be transmitted to the 
Chiropractic Information Network-Board Action Data Bank 
(CIN-BAD) or other national data bank as required.  A licensee 
whose license has been suspended for a specific period of time 
(down-time) shall not during the period of suspension realize any 
remuneration from his or her practice; be in attendance in his or 
her office when it is open to serve patients; or provide chiropractic 
services to any person at any location.  A licensee or facility owner 
whose license or registration has been revoked for a period of more 
than one year may, after the expiration of at least one year from 
the date that such revocation became final, apply to the Board for 
reinstatement.  The Board in its discretion may deny reinstatement 
or grant reinstatement without conditions or with probation for 
a specified period of time under specified conditions or with or 
without reexamination or additional training.

Cases appealed to District Court may then be argued and 
appealed in the state and federal court systems as the laws regarding 
those court systems apply.  The licensee is guaranteed the right to 
due process throughout the hearings and court procedures. 
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Name Lic # Discipline Date of Action City 
Ajayi, Francis Ayodeji DC 11053 Suspend/Probate 5/4/2009 Richmond

Allen, Sammy Joe DC 5434 Ltr of Reprimand 2/26/2009 Brownsville

Babb, Christopher Thomas DC 11107 Suspend/Probate 5/4/2009 Lake Dallas

Bennett-Burton, Tina DC 10635 Fine 5/14/2009 Dallas

Benthall, Steven Clinton DC 2967 Cease and Desist w/fine 5/14/2009 Austin

Beyer, Jr. Michael Dan DC 8122 Fine 5/14/2009 Houston

Books, Phyllis E.B. DC 4321 Fine with Stips 8/13/2009 Austin

Buckley, Matthew D. DC 9396 Fine with Stips 8/13/2009 Austin

Burbridge, Darlene F 3343 Fine 8/13/2009 Houston

Burdin, Daniel Bradley DC 6933 Fine 5/14/2009 San Antonio

Cantu, Daniel D. DC 6930 Fine, Refer to Medical Board 2/26/2009 Houston

Carlson, Ky H. DC 9440 Suspend/Probate w/Stips 5/14/2009 Conroe

Davis, Chris DeMond DC 8439 Revocation 2/26/2009 Gladewater

Diamond, Timothy L. DC 8568 Surrender of License 11/18/2008 Fort Worth

Diamond, Timothy L. DC 8568 Surrender of License 11/18/2008 Fort Worth

Doyle, Danny Ray DC 2433 Revocation 8/13/2009 Fort Worth

Duke, Darrell Duane DC 2776 Fine 11/6/2008 Dumas

Ecola, Michael J. DC 9997 Suspend/Probate w/Fine 2/26/2009 Sulphur Springs

Ehrke, Larry Dale DC 2702 Fine 5/14/2009 Brownwood

Fields, Ernie Van DC 6365 Fine 11/6/2008 Plainview

Funderburk, Ursula Danyelle DC 6673 Fine 2/26/2009 Houston

Garcia, Bertha F 8268 Fine 2/26/2009 Houston

Glans, Howard C. DC 7229 Fine 11/6/2008 Keller

Glans, Howard C. DC 7229 Fine 11/6/2008 Keller

Gonser-Prado, Genene A. DC 6945 Fine 8/13/2009 Liberty Hill

Guidry, Jr. Richard Ignatius DC 8045 Cease and Desist 10/14/2008 Houston

Hanson, Mark L. DC 4238 Fine 2/26/2009 Dallas

Hogan, Thomas Earl DC 8701 Fine 8/13/2009 Austin

Hogan, Thomas Earl DC 8701 Fine 8/13/2009 Austin

Huaman, James F 8129 Fine 8/13/2009 Irving

Huse, Ronnie Ray DC 2405 Revocation 2/26/2009 Dallas

Huynh, Cindy F 6422 Fine 8/13/2009 Houston

Jacobs, Craig Steven DC 6826 Fine w/Stips 5/14/2009 Plano

Johns, Randall Baugh DC 9359 Fine 8/13/2009 Texarkana

Jones, LaShunda F 7490 Fine 11/6/2008 Houston

Kelly, Richard DC 2812 Fine 8/13/2009 Houston

TBCE Board Takes 63 Disciplinary Actions
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Ledbetter, Edward Chestley DC 9364 Fine 5/14/2009 Gladewater

Leza, Mario Albert DC 9901 Fine 5/14/2009 Lewisville

Mack, Preston C. DC 6713 Fine 8/13/2009 Houston

Mathes, Loren Arthur DC 5761 Fine 8/13/2009 Wichita

McCoy-Moore, Tiffany DC 6315 Fine 11/6/2008 Flower Mound

Ngo, Terry F 8097 Ltr of Reprimand 8/13/2009 Houston

Nguyen, Hong Michelle DC 9323 Fine 8/13/2009 Bellaire

Odmark, Dean Thorston DC 4047 Fine 8/13/2009 San Antonio

Ozor, George No License Cease and Desist 3/17/2009 Dallas

Perkins, Larin B. DC 4363 Fine 5/14/2009 Houston

Pete, Henry F 6483 Cease and Desist 1/26/2009 Houston

Peterson, Arthur Darwin DC 2750 Fine 5/14/2009 Austin

Pettke, Michael Brandon DC 9711 Fine 8/13/2009 Burleson

Pick, Jeffrey David DC 5586 Surrender of License 11/18/2008 Cedar Park

Polson, Michael Clark DC 4024 Ltr of Reprimand w/fine 2/26/2009 Mansfield

Rongers, Edward Walter DC 2366 Ltr of Reprimand 2/26/2009 Wills Point

Rongers, Edward Walter DC 2366 Ltr of Reprimand 2/26/2009 Wills Point

Ryder, Kelly F 7898 Cease and Desist w/fine 5/14/2009 Dallas

Shanu-Abu, Joseph F 4369 Fine 11/6/2008 Houston

Southerland, Dale Alan DC 6914 Fine 8/13/2009 Pearland

Thai, Binh Van DC 6790 Revocation 11/6/2008 Arlington

Tran, Nam Cuong F 5867 Ltr of Reprimand w/fine 11/6/2008 Dallas

Tran, Nam Cuong F 5867 Ltr of Reprimand w/fine 11/6/2008 Dallas

Vance, James Lane DC 4038 Fine 5/14/2009 Austin

Vo, Thientuan D. DC 8751 Revocation 8/13/2009 Arlington

Wilson, Joseph F. DC 4937 Fine 8/13/2009 El Paso

American Health Choice F 8474 Fine 8/13/2009 Flower Mound

During Fiscal-Year 2009

CORRECTION: In the August 2008 issue of this newsletter (Issue #1), we erroneously included Dr. Jeff 
Rodriguez (DC license #5590) in a list of disciplinary actions taken by the Board during Fiscal Year 2007.  Dr. Jeff 
Rodriguez was not disciplined by the Board during FY 2007 for any reason and his name should not have been 
included on the disciplinary list.  We regret the error and have apologized to Dr. Rodriguez.

Glenn Parker, Executive Director
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners.  

Note:  Some names appear twice because of multiple violations.

	 Name	 Lic #	 Discipline	 Date of Action	 City	
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How to Avoid Disciplinary Action
The purpose of this article is to give TBCE licensees some guidance on how to practice legally and ethically and 

thereby avoid facing the prospect of being disciplined by the Board.

Board Prefers Compliance, Not Punishment
No doctor wants to be the recipient of disciplinary action 

by the Board and, in a perfect world, the Board would prefer 
to never have to take disciplinary action against a licensee.  
We would prefer that all licensees know, understand and 
comply with the statutes and rules that govern the practice of 
chiropractic in Texas.  

Unfortunately, we do not live in a perfect world.  Doctors 
of chiropractic do make mistakes and sometimes they make 
decisions that lead to unethical or illegal activities.  Sometimes 
the standard of care given to a patient is clearly inadequate.  
More often the DC may, knowingly or unknowingly, violate 
some aspect of the Texas Chiropractic Act, Board Rules, or 
other state laws that govern the practice of chiropractic.  A 
few doctors or chiropractic clinic owners choose to willfully 
engage in criminal activity.

The mission of the Board is to promote, preserve and 
protect the health, safety and economic welfare of the people 
of Texas through the regulation of the practice of chiropractic.  
Protecting the public is clearly the highest priority for the 
Board and it is resolute in fulfilling that duty.  However, the 
Board recognizes that it also has a responsibility to regulate 
the practice of chiropractic in a manner that is reasonable and 
fair to its licensees.

To that end, the Board seeks to ensure that all licensees 
know and understand their professional responsibilities under 
the Texas Chiropractic Act and Board Rules.  Below are 
some suggestions on how to ensure that your practice record 
remains clear.  Some are major issues and others are simply 
reminders on doing the little things to avoid problems.  We 
do have to accept that there is no way to guarantee a DC will 
not have a complaint filed against him or her.  No matter 
how perfectly a DC practices and obeys all laws, an unhappy 
patient or employee may file a complaint with the Board.  
However, the following tips should help most DCs avoid ever 
becoming involved in the TBCE’s disciplinary process.  

Tips on Protecting Yourself and Your Practice
•	 Know the Law – It is the responsibility of each DC to 

know and comply with the state laws that govern the 
practice of DCs in Texas.  Get a copy of the Chiropractic 

Act and Board Rules and become thoroughly familiar 
with them.  Print a copy of the statutes and rules off our 
website or order a booklet from the TBCE.

•	 Renew DC License on Time - It is illegal to practice 
with an expired license.  A DC may renew online at our 
website 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

•	   Renew Facility Registration on Time – It is illegal 
to operate a clinic or to work in a clinic that does not 
have a current registration.  Clinic (facility) registration 
renewals can be done online.

•	 Register Radiologic Technologists – Rad Techs must 
be registered with the Texas Department of State Health 
Services and with the Board.  Anyone taking x-rays must 
be qualified to do so by the state.

•	 Provide Copies of Records Upon Request – DCs 
are legally obligated to provide patients with copies of 
their records or a summary of those records upon written 
request.  See Rule §80.3 for guidance on fees that you 
may charge to provide records.  Records cannot be 
withheld until the patient pays an outstanding balance or 
signs a letter of protection.

•	 Keep Good Records – Clearly document in the patient 
records all that you do.  The documentation must support 
all assessments, evaluations, treatments, outcomes and 
billings.

•	 Respect Personal Boundaries – DCs work in a physical 
way with most patients and it is imperative that the DC 
always maintain a proper professional relationship with 
all patients.  Be very careful about how and where you 
touch a patient and how you talk with patients.  Violation 
of sexual and personal boundaries is a very serious issue 
with the Board.

•	 Keep Advertising Ethical – Always identify yourself as a 
DC and never promise results, make claims of superiority 
or make any statements that cannot be shown to be true 
or that might tend to mislead a potential patient.

•	 Telemarketing – Do not contact accident or disaster 
victims earlier than the 31st day after the event. Keep 
copies of all scripts used and logs of everyone contacted.

•	 Bill Properly – Bill only for actual services rendered and 
present the patient with a written statement of charges 
for every visit.
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Board Puts DC License Verifications 
and DC Database Search Online
Transparency and Open Government

The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners is keenly aware of 

its status as an official agency of the State of Texas and of its legal 

and ethical responsibilities to operate in 

accordance with state laws concerning 

open government, open meetings 

and open records.  The agency seeks 

to provide reasonable and efficient 

access to its public records and actions 

to any interested party in accord with 

state law.

The TBCE is pleased to announce that 

it now provides free online verification of DC licenses to all 

interested parties.  It is also possible to search the DC database in 

various ways to provide useful information concerning licensed 

doctors of chiropractic in Texas.  The service is available 24 hours a 

day, 7 days a week on the agency’s website (www.tbce.state.tx.us).  

The file is updated before 9:00 A.M. every working day and 

displays the license status and other information as of the close of 

business on the previous day.

We believe this free service will prove to be very useful to our 

licensees, chiropractic patients and potential patients, insurance 

companies and others interested in the practice of chiropractic 

in Texas.  Putting the service online at no charge is expected 

to greatly reduce the agency’s workload is this area as we 

receive more than 11,000 written requests annually for license 

verifications and disciplinary records. 

Verifying a DC License
To access the verifications and search feature, go to the 

agency website and click on “Verifications” or click on the red 

announcement at the top of the home page and then follow the 

links and instructions.

The verification function is intended to allow a DC and other 

interested parties to verify the status of the DC’s license at any 

point in time.  To verify the status of any particular DC licensee, 

go to the search box in the verification function and type in the 

5-digit DC license number, including leading zeros as necessary.  

If the license number is not known, one can simply search on any 

combination of first, middle and/or last names.

The response page displays all the records found that match the 

search criteria and gives the following information for each record:  

License Number; Last Name; First Name; Middle Name; City; 

State; License Status; License Issue Date; License Expiration Date; 

and Disciplinary Action.  For instance, typing the word “Smith” 

into the search box will return a list of all Texas licensed DCs with 

the first, middle, or last name of Smith or who live in a city with 

the word “Smith” in its name, such as Ft. Smith, Arkansas.  The 

response page can be printed and includes an explanation of the 

meanings of the ten possible statuses for a license, such as Active, 

Expired, Suspended, etc.  The city listed is the city for the official 

mailing address of the doctor as provided to the agency by the 

licensee.  It may be the doctor’s home city, the city in which the 

clinic is located, or another mailing address such as a post office box.

The search function also allows one to see how many DCs are 

in any particular city, which licenses are expired, get a listing of 

all licenses that are currently revoked, etc.  Try different search 

combinations that may be of interest to you.

Disciplinary Action
One of the fields displayed on the response to any inquiry for 

license verification is the Disciplinary Action field.  This field will 

contain either the word “No” or the word “Yes.”  A “No” in the 

Disciplinary Action field means that the agency has no record of 

this doctor ever having been disciplined by the Board.  A “Yes” 

in the Disciplinary Action field means that the Board has taken 

official disciplinary action against the licensee at some point.

All disciplinary actions taken by the Board are public records 

and must be disclosed under the state’s Open Records Act.  

Insurance companies especially inquire about any disciplinary 

actions taken by the Board as do patients.  Also, other states check 

with the TBCE whenever any DC who has ever been licensed in 

Texas applies for licensure in another state.  Under state law we 

must provide the information.

The agency is in the process of providing direct, online access 

to copies of disciplinary actions taken by the Board.  If a DC 

has a “Yes” in his or her Disciplinary Action field, a link will be 

provided so that anyone can view and print a copy of the official 

disciplinary action taken by the Board.

Online Facility (Clinic) Verifications Coming
 Agency staff members are also in the process of developing free 

online verification and database search systems for chiropractic 

facilities (clinics) and for chiropractic radiologic technologists.  We 

plan to have those verification and search options online by the 

end of November, 2009 if not sooner.
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Q I am hearing a lot of talk about acupuncture.  Specifically, is it 

true that any DC in Texas who wants to practice acupuncture 

after January 1, 2010 must pass the acupuncture examination given 

by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners?  I have included 

acupuncture in my DC practice for many years and completed a 100 

hour certification course in acupuncture through a chiropractic college 

several years ago.

A If you have already completed a 100 hour post graduate 

acupuncture course you will not be required to pass the 

NBCE acupuncture examination to continue using acupuncture in 

your DC practice.  The Board adopted Rule §75.21 (Acupuncture) 

on May 4, 2009.  While the Board has long held that acupuncture 

is within scope of practice for properly trained and qualified DCs, 

it has never previously adopted any rules to 

specify what the minimal qualifications are 

for a DC in Texas to practice acupuncture.  

Rule §75.21 establishes those minimum 

qualifications.  (See also Page 5)

The rule sets different requirements 

for two sets of licensees – those who will 

be licensed for the first time in Texas after 

January 1, 2010 and those already licensed with the 

TBCE before January 1, 2010.  First, all DCs who are 

licensed in Texas for the first time on or after January 1, 

2010 must pass either the NBCE acupuncture exam or the 

examination offered by the National Certification Commission 

for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM).  They will 

have no other options.

Those DCs who are currently licensed in Texas or who will be 

issued their initial license prior to January 1, 2010 must meet any one 

of the following requirements to practice acupuncture as a DC: 

•	 Have passed the NBCE acupuncture exam; or

•	 Have passed the exam offered by the NCCAOM; or

•	 Have completed a post graduate course in acupuncture of at 

least 100 hours offered by a CCE chiropractic college; or

•	 Have completed a course in acupuncture of at least 100 hours 

that was approved by the TBCE; or

•	 Have been a licensed DC for at least ten years and be able to 

prove to the Board that you have practiced acupuncture for at 

least ten years.

Q What is the status of the lawsuit against the Board that was 

brought by the Texas Medical Association in 2006?

A  The lawsuit is still active.  We expect to go to trial, if necessary, 

sometime in the early months of 2010.

Q  Is the use of ultraviolet light within the scope of practice for 

DCs in Texas?

A  The use of ultraviolet light to treat patients is within scope if it 

is used to treat the subluxation complex or the biomechanics 

of the musculoskeletal system of the human body.  All treatments 

for any other purposes, including cosmetic purposes, are not within 

scope of practice for doctors of chiropractic.

Q   We are trying to determine whether Lithotripsy / 

Extracorporeal Shock Wave Therapy, CPT Code 50590, is 

considered within or outside the scope of practice for a chiropractor in 

Texas.  Can you help us?

A  It is the opinion of the Board that Lithotripsy / Extracorporeal 

Shock Wave Therapy using CPT Code 50590 is not within 

scope of practice for DCs in Texas.  It is our understanding that 

CPT Code 50590 is a surgical code used in breaking up kidney 

stones.  Other uses of L/E Shockwave Therapy may or 

may not be within scope of practice but those uses are 

not addressed in this response.

Q I recently called the Board’s office in 

Austin seeking advice on how to properly 

code an insurance submittal.  I was surprised 

to learn that the Board employees do not offer 

advice or help on coding issues.  Why not?

A  The Board recognizes that coding of insurance and Medicare 

claims is an important issue for DCs.  That is one reason why 

the Board has implemented a continuing education requirement 

that all DCs obtain at least one hour of continuing education credit 

in coding each year.  A thorough class or seminar in coding would 

seem to be a good investment for most DCs.  However, it is not 

within the Board’s direct statutory responsibility or authority to 

provide advice or direction on how to properly code claims.  In 

addition, the agency has only a small staff and cannot afford to 

employ an expert in coding.

On the other hand, the Board clearly has the authority and 

responsibility to investigate complaints involving possible fraud in 

which a DC has miscoded insurance or Medicare claims with the 

intent to illegally enrich the DC.  Also, improper coding that results 

in a patient being denied reimbursement for legitimate treatment 

may be a cause for disciplinary action against the DC if the Board 

believes that the DC has not exercised proper diligence.  The Board’s 

Enforcement Committee will also review the coding in patient 

records if it is relevant to the resolution of a complaint.

. 
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Documentation must 
support diagnosis 
treatment & billing

AGENCY LICENSING & REGISTRATION INFORMATION
Number of DCs Number of Clinics

  Active License 4,666   Active Registration 3,413

  Expired License 296   Expired Registration 208

  Inactive License 651

  License on Probation 14 Number of Radiologic Technologists

  License Suspended 3   Active Registration 79

  License Revoked 19   Expired Registration 32

Information in this table was current as of August, 2009

CHIROPRACTIC

In December of 2007, the Board adopted new Rule §71.13 
(Chiropractic Specialties).  There has been some confusion in 
the chiropractic community since that time over the Board’s 
intent in adopting the rule and how it may impact practicing 
DCs.  The Board recognizes that many doctors of chiropractic 
have gone on to complete rigorous, advanced specialized 
courses in various areas of practice, often receiving diplomates 
in those areas.  It was and is the Board’s intention to simply 
officially recognize that certain areas of practice are legitimate 
chiropractic specialty areas.  The Board believes that its official 
recognition of legitimate chiropractic specialties will support 
the general acceptance of those specialties by the public and 
other interested parties.

It is important to understand that the Board is only 
recognizing approved specialty areas of practice.  It is NOT 
recognizing or certifying individual DCs as being “state board 
certified” to practice in those specialty areas.  Most, if not all, 
specialty areas will already have a national organization or 
board that confers diplomate status on qualified individuals.

To date, the Board has received and approved specialty 
recognition for chiropractic radiology and chiropractic 
orthopedics.  An application is pending (but not yet approved) 
for the recognition of chiropractic acupuncture as a specialty 
area.  Any person or entity may submit an application to 
the Board for recognition of a chiropractic specialty.  The 
application must conform to the requirements of Rule 
§71.13 and a $750 fee is required.  The form can be found 
on the agency website under “Forms/Downloads.”   At this 
time, if you have a diplomate in radiology or orthopedics, 
you may use the terms “specialty” or “specializing” in your 
advertisements and other public communications.

In the course of a year, agency Enforcement Department 
staff and board members who serve on the Enforcement 
Committee review tens of thousands of pages of patient files 
and documentation.  The quality of the documentation found 
in those records ranges from outstanding to non-existent.  It 
is sometimes difficult, if not impossible, for even the highly 
qualified doctors of chiropractic who sit on the Board to 
determine from the records what treatment a DC provided 
to the patient and the assessment or diagnosis supporting that 
treatment.

Board Rule §75.2 (Proper Diligence and Efficient Practice 
of Chiropractic) says that it is a lack of proper diligence for a 
DC to fail “…to assess and evaluate a patient’s status…”  Rule 
§80.5 (Maintenance of Chiropractic Records), in paragraph 
(f), states:

“Licensees shall maintain patient and billing records in a 
manner consistent with the protection and welfare of the 
patient.  A licensee’s patient records shall support all diagnoses, 
treatments, and billing.  Records shall be timely, dated, accurate, 
signed or initialed by the licensee or the person providing the 
treatment, and legible.  Electronic signatures are acceptable.”

It should be possible for any qualified doctor of chiropractic 
to review the patient files and documentation of another 
DC’s patient and have a reasonably clear understanding of 
the treating DC’s assessment or diagnosis of the patient, the 
course of treatment decided on by the treating DC, the actual 
treatment provided (when, what, how much, by whom) and 
the outcome of that treatment.  It should also be possible 
to clearly track the charges for treatment back to the actual 
treatment documented in the patient’s files.

Specialties
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Non-DC Owned Clinic 
Registrations Past Due 
After Sept. 1, 2009

All chiropractic clinics (facilities) that are owned by 
individuals or organizations that are not licensed doctors 
of chiropractic must renew their facility registrations with 
the Board by September 1 of each year.  Renewal forms 
reminding clinic owners of the renewal requirements were 
mailed to all non-DC owned clinics approximately 45-60 
days prior to September 1.  (The annual registration for a 
chiropractic clinic whose primary owner is a chiropractor is 
due at the same time that the DC’s license is due for renewal, 
which is the first day of the month in which the DC was 
born.)

This is a friendly reminder that any non-DC or organization 
that is the primary owner of a chiropractic clinic and that has 
not renewed the annual clinic registration should immediately 
go to the TBCE website and renew the registration online.  It 
is quick and easy to do.  Our website address is:  www.tbce.
state.tx.us.  Check the menu on the left hand side of our 
home page and click on the tab for “Facility Licensing and 
Renewals.”  Follow the links to the Texas Online renewal 
page.  You will need your facility number (which is on your 
registration certificate) and a credit card.  It is illegal to operate 
a chiropractic clinic that is not currently registered with the 
Board and it is illegal for any doctor of chiropractic to work 
in a chiropractic clinic that is not currently registered with 
the Board.  Insurance companies often refuse to reimburse a 
DC for work performed in a clinic during any time period 
in which the facility registration was expired and sometimes 
demand refunds for any payments made.

Radiologic Technologist 
Registration Renewals 
Due January 1

All individuals who take x-rays in a chiropractic clinic 
must be qualified to do so, either by their licensure as a 
DC, a nurse or another health care professional or must be 
certified by the Texas Department of State Health Services 
(DSHS).  TBCE Board Rule §78.1 requires that individuals 
other than DCs, nurses and certified medical technologists 
must register annually with the Board as Chiropractic 
Radiologic Technologists.  So-called Rad Techs are required 
to renew their registration with the Board by January 
1 of each year.  Renewal forms are sent by the Board 
approximately 45-60 days before the renewal date.

The TBCE does not certify individuals to work as x-ray 
technologists but relies on DSHS to certify individuals for 
that purpose.  Information on how to register with DSHS 
and become certified can be found at the following location 
on the DSHS website:  http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/mrt/
default.shtm

A DC can apply to DSHS for a hardship exemption 
if a qualified chiropractic radiologic technologist cannot 
be found.  Individuals taking x-rays in a chiropractic 
clinic under a hardship exemption must register with 
the TBCE and renew their registration annually.  The 
Board is concerned that very few chiropractic radiologic 
technologists are registered with the Board.  Allowing an 
unqualified individual to take x-rays endangers patients 
and is a violation of Board rules.  It is not permissible for a 
doctor to train the employee to take x-rays unless the DC 
has a current hardship exemption from DSHS.

fourth generation Texan, Mr. Turner is 
also a limited partner of San Antonio-
based TETCO, Inc. and co-chairman 
of the Austin-based political action 
committee Maverick PAC.  Mr. Turner 
received a B.A. in Economics and a B.A. 
in Political Science, cum laude, from 
Washington and Lee University.  Mr. 
Turner, a public member, serves on 
the Board’s Licensing & Educational 
Standards Committee.  He replaces Ms. 
Marcia Daughtrey of Tyler.

Govenor Appoints Turner, 
Continued from page 1 TBCE STATUTES AND RULES ORDER FORM

Know the Law! - To order your copy of the Statutes and Rules that govern the prac-
tice of chiropractic in Texas, copy and complete this order form and mail it with a 
check or money order to:  Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (or TBCE), 333 
Guadalupe St., Suite 3-825, Austin, Texas 78701.

Name:  __________________________________________________

Address: _________________________________________________

City:_________________________ State:___________  Zip_________

# of Copies___________ x $10 each = $__________________Enclosed
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BOARD MEETING 
INFORMATION & DATES

ENFORCEMENT 
COMMITTEE DATES

STAFF CONTACT INFORMATION

LICENSING
Jennifer Hertsenberg, Director of Licensing...........512-305-6702
•	 New DC Applications, DC Renewals & Inactive Status
•	 Facility (Clinic) Registrations & Renewals Applications
•	 Radiologic Technologists Registrations & Renewals
•	 Approval of CE Course Applications

Anita Wilkerson, Administrative Assistant...............512-305-6707
•	 License Verifications	
•	 Open Records Requests
•	 Sales of Lists

ENFORCEMENT
	 Scott Parker, Director of Enforcement..................512-305-6708
	 Bill Zilar, Investigator..........................................512-305-6704
	 Mary Feys, Admin. Assistant for Enforcement.......512-305-6901
	 Toll-Free Complaint Hot Line 
		  (to request a complaint form only)......................800-821-3205	
			 
ADMINISTRATION
	 Arletia Middleton, Chief Financial Officer...........512-305-6709
	 Mary Ann Garcia, Admin. Asst. Purchasing..........512-305-6703

Main Office Number.............................................................................................................................................................. 512-305-6700
Office Fax Number................................................................................................................................................................ 512-305-6705
Website......................................................................................................................................................................... www.tbce.state.tx.us
Office Hours:  8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday except holidays

The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners meets 
(usually) four times each year, but may meet more or less 
often as circumstances require.  The Board is required to 
meet at least two times each fiscal year.  Unless otherwise 
announced, board meetings are held in Room 2-225 of 
the William P. Hobby Building, which is located at 333 
Guadalupe Street, Austin, Texas (the corner of 4th and 
Guadalupe streets in downtown Austin).

Official meeting dates, locations and agendas are 
published at least seven (7) days in advance by the 
Secretary of State.  To find these notices online, go to 
the Secretary of State’s website at: www.sos.state.tx.us 
and look for Open Meetings.  Tentative dates for TBCE 
board meetings for the next several years can be found 
on the agency’s website at:   www.tbce.state.tx.us under 
the Calendar section.  Tentative dates for the remainder 
of 2009 and for 2010 are:

November 12, 2009
February 18, 2010
May 20, 2010
August 12, 2010
November 4, 2010

The Enforcement Committee of the Board meets 
most months, usually 9-to-10 times each year.  The 
Committee meets with licensees and other individuals 
against whom complaints have been filed charging 
them with violations of the Chiropractic Act, Board 
Rules or other laws.  Portions of the Enforcement 
Committee meetings are open to the public but 
the discussion and/or consideration of specific 
complaints are closed in accordance with the 
Chiropractic Act.  The agency notifies in advance 
those individuals whose cases will be considered.  
Enforcement Committee meetings are usually held 
in various locations within the William P. Hobby 
Building, 333 Guadalupe Street, Austin, Texas 
78701.  The Enforcement Committee has scheduled 
meetings for the following dates at this time:

September 15, 2009
October 20, 2009
November 12, 2009 (in conjunction with the full 
board meeting on that date)
November 17, 2009
December 2009 (No meeting scheduled at this time)
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The purpose of the Texas Chiropractic Board Report newsletter is 
to disseminate information concerning the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of chiropractic in Texas to doctors of 
chiropractic, chiropractic clinic owners, clinic employees, the 
public and other interested stakeholders.  The newsletter provides 
information on current issues in chiropractic regulation, rules 
adopted or under consideration for adoption, information 
concerning licensure and practice and disciplinary actions taken 
by the Board against licensees or others who violate the Texas 
Chiropractic Act or Board Rules.  While the TBCE attempts to 
ensure that all information presented in the newsletter is accurate, 
the Board cannot guarantee that the contents are accurate or legally 
correct in all circumstances.

In compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, this 
document may be requested in alternate formats by contacting 
the Board’s office at 512-305-6700 (Voice), 512-305-6705 (Fax), 
by e-mailing us at tbce@tcbe.state.tx.us, or by visiting the Board’s 
offices at 333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-825, Austin, Texas 78701. 

Information published in the Texas Chiropractic Board Report is not copyrighted 

(unless otherwise noted) and may be reproduced.  The Board would 

appreciate credit for the material used and a copy of the reprint.  Questions or 

comments concerning the newsletter should be mailed to:  Newsletter, Texas 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-825, Austin, Texas 

78701.  You may e-mail your comments to: tbce@tbce.state.tx.us or fax them 

to “Newsletter” at fax number 512-305-6705.

The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners has its offices in the William P. Hobby 

Building, which is located at the corner of 4th and Guadalupe streets in downtown 

Austin (see address above).  Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday 

through Friday, except for designated holidays.

The agency’s website is: www.tbce.state.tx.us.  Please check the website 

regularly for current information.

The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners is an equal opportunity/affirmative 

action employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, 

sex, national origin, age, or disability in employment or in the provisions of 

services, programs or activities.


